Skip navigation

No, that is not Alfred’s line. The dialogue in which Alfred’s line lies in (from Batman Begins, 2005), is this:

Bruce Wayne: I wanted to save Gotham. I’ve failed.

Alfred: Why do we fall, sir? So that we can learn to pick ourselves up.

Bruce: You still haven’t given up on me?

Alfred: Never.

So back to the quetsion, why do we blog?

[Would like to discuss the trilogy, as it is up there in my list of favourite trilogies. Maybe one day.]

This question first came to me when I was, well,I forgot what was I doing back then, but it came as a good idea to be written as a discourse.

Writting, be it handwriting or typing (the discussion of which is provided here), is a form of expression. While speaking may be more spontaneous, direct, and invites direct feedback, writing involves more planning and thinking beforehand, is less spontaneous, indirect and invites less direct feedback.

As for me, blogging provides the space to jot down my thoughts, expressions, concerns, (the list goes on), which I could not say in public. Or which I’ve said in public and want to immortalize it by sending it to the Net. Thus, it serves for me like what the hieroglyphs did for the ancient Egyptians. The downside to it might be that several generations from now people from all around the world would admire it but not understand a word of it, except for a tiny bit of people who are willing to put in a lot just to know about it.

Anyway, both are great with a cup of coffee or tea, so it is a rather mutualistic way to justify having additional cups of coffee and spending more time on the Internet.

Oh well. Said that.

So, why do we blog?

Leave a comment